Sketches

This gallery is where I’ll be posting the finished first stage of production for each of my doodles.

I generally come up with a composition, roughly blocked out at small scale and nailing down the overall layout. Then I fill it in more or less randomly with the shapes you encounter across my work.

My current preferred medium is pencils in a Moleskine. They’re portable, and the page-size isn’t too intimidating. The one drawback is that some pieces want to be bigger, and I have dreams of putting pencil, pen or brush to multiple large canvases in future.

These are then traced in Inkscape as .SVG files, and coloured. The stages of that process can be found in the Works in Progress gallery.

More sketches will be added to this as they are completed.

Leave a Reply

